Ohio Governor Appoints New Members to Statewide Disabilities Council

Columbus, OH (December 15, 2020) - Governor Mike DeWine has appointed five new members to the Ohio Developmental Disabilities Council (Ohio DD Council), the state’s disability advocacy agency whose mission is to create change that improves independence, productivity, and inclusion for people with developmental disabilities and their families in community life.

The new appointees from across Ohio fill open self-advocate and family members positions on Council. They include:

  • William Ackman of Upper Arlington (Franklin County)
  • Courtney Hineman of Hamilton (Butler County)
  • Debbie Lozano of Mentor (Lake County)
  • Amanda Via of Pleasant Hill (Miami County)
  • Brian Vieth of Cincinnati (Hamilton County)

In addition, the Governor re-appointed Jean Jakovlic, Franklin County, for another Council term. The newly appointed members will serve two three-year terms on the Ohio DD Council.

“We are excited to welcome these exceptional appointees to the Ohio DD Council,” said Carolyn Knight, executive director of the Ohio DD Council. “Their experiences will bring valuable insight to the Council’s work to continue developing a more inclusive Ohio for people with disabilities and their families.”

The Ohio DD Council is one of a national network of state councils, committed to self-determination and community inclusion for people with developmental disabilities. The Council has over 30 members of which 60% represent people with developmental disabilities, and parents and guardians of people with developmental disabilities. The remaining members include representatives from state agencies, non-profit organizations and agencies providing services to people with developmental disabilities.

For more information on the Ohio DD Council, its work, and its members, please go to www.ddc.ohio.gov.